Cirque du Quoi?

Calm this week. Good thing too, cause I need the time and energy on other things.
 
But but! Last week I had to go to Oostende (Ostend) for 5 days, sleeping there with my colleagues in a youth hostel. "The oister pit" Man did we crack jokes about that. I personally didn’t drink and hardly smoked, but I’m the only one. Most of them were drunk and/or stoned every night. One of them hasn’t even spoken a single word that made sense for the whole 5 days, and tried to eat his helmet at work, offering me some. And after work, we headed for the beach, sitting in the sand joking and talking and watching the sun set. I love my job.
 
So why was I there? Cirque du Soleil. Setting up the tent, stage, and set took us 5 days in total and we finished 1.5 days ahead on schedule. We were congratulated by the crew and told we had lived up to our reputation. Kinda boosts your ego, trust me. Even if they wouldn’t have said a word about it I know we did an excellent job, the morale was great and so were the results.
It’s just a shame we couldn’t get tickets to the show. They promised us but in the end we got nothing. Oh well.
 
Tomorrow I have to break down something in Gent (Ghent), I don’t know what it is or how it’ll be. I do know I start at 11pm, so it’ll be an all-nighter. "Ah the sun set, time to go to work." How surreal.
 
I once posted how no artist ever mentioned the people behind them, who built the stage and made it all possible for them to do their thing. I was wrong. Some guy named Jackson Brown actually did. I got this from a friend:
 
ARTIST: Jackson Browne
TITLE: The Load Out / Stay
Lyrics

I’d like to do a song I never played in public before, a brand new song, sort of a tribute to the friends of mine, that come out here on the road, and to you too.

Now the seats are all empty
Let the roadies take the stage
Pack it up and tear it down
They’re the first to come and the last to leave
Working for that minimum wage
They’ll set it up in another town

Tonight the people were so fine, they waited there in line
And when they got up on their feet, they made the show
And that was sweet, but I can hear the sound
Of slamming doors and folding chairs
And that’s a sound they’ll never know

Now, roll them cases out and lift them amps
Haul them trusses down and get ’em up them ramps
‘Cause when it comes to moving me
You know you guys are the champs
But when that last guitar’s been packed away
You know that I still want to play
So just make sure you’ve got it all set to go
Before you come for my piano

Leave a Reply

