…Just to play the king…

Funny stuff at work today. We had to set up a stage for a classic orchestra, right outside the royal palace in Brussels. (For the more developed among you: Yes, Belgium is a kingdom and yes, our king has a palace.) Nice spot, with the palace on one side and a big park on the other. And plenty of passers-by to whistle and yell at, although I’m less explicit at this than most of my co-workers *cough*.

After a few hours a colleague asked where the hell those chemical Dixi toilets went to, that are usually placed at every production. I joked about it and told him maybe to go ask the nice policeman who was standing at the palace entrance if he could use the "royal restrooms". And we all laughed and got on with our work.

Now, a large part of the palace now functions as a museum about our royal family and little did I know, Roadrunner seemed to have made a deal with… -I don’t know, the king maybe?- to actually use the bathrooms inside. We could simply walk past the long line of tourists and "vive le roi" monarchists and step up to the cops, who let us pass as if we were the king himself. That’s a first time for me. The police aren’t exactly my friend.

And let me tell you, I never took a more luxurious leak. The toilets themselves were made out of fricken’ marble. And there were butlers there to help you finish off and wipe and stuff. Okay no that’s a lie but it would have made quite a finishing touch. I could see myself 6 times (which was hardly stimulating) with all the mirrors there.

It’s nice to know where your tax money goes, isn’t it. At least I got to piss on the toilet seat mwu ha ha.

 

All this was overshadowed by something very odd that happened to me that morning, though.

I had to get up at 5.15am, so I though it might be a good idea to go to bed early. Only, for the last couple weeks I went to sleep around 4am, so as a result I couldn’t sleep at all. That lasted up till around 2am, where I decided to just get up, get ready for work, and wait. I slept one hour, at most.

I must have fallen asleep behind my computer around 4.30. I had set my alarm clock just to make sure. I don’t know how long I slept, but it seemed like my alarm went off just as I actually started sleeping, in R.E.M. (Rapid Eye Movement, dream state) phase or whatever you want to call it. When I got op and started to get ready, it felt as though I didn’t wake up at all. Very weird, I never in my life experienced that before. It didn’t get better when I tried to shake it off, it only got worse. My stomach turned and I suddenly felt very nauseous, and the room sort of started spinning. I couldn’t think straight anymore, all I kept thinking was "This is so not funny this is so not funny this is…" I felt like I was going to throw up so I stumbled outside. It was 5 in the morning, dark outside, everyone was still asleep. The last thing I remember thinking (besides "this is so not funny") was maybe to sit down and try to relax some.

Next thing I know, I had collapsed on our driveway. No one saw me and I’m lucky I didn’t fall asleep there, would have given our neighbours quite a scare, and my co-workers a reason to kick my ass again. I don’t know how long I was out, but it couldn’t have been more than 2, 3 minutes. I was still confused, but my mind had cleared up a bit. I stood up, the nausea and dizzyness completely gone, and just, went to work. I still don’t know what the hell happened, I had eaten something about 15 minutes before and I didn’t feel anything remotely like it for the rest of the day. It’s the first time I passed out since I got an electric wire against my head, and that was 10 years ago. Scared me a little.

Leave a Reply

