Still no white christmas…

I’m sitting in a youth hostel, a lemon tree to my left, BBC News to my right, a qwerty keyboard in front of me and a bunch of australian-new zealandish-british people behind me that I really don’t feel like talking to. This must be the loneliest christmas eve I’ve had so far. But I expected as much, didn’t I.
 
Norway on itself has been great so far, I especially like the town of Bergen. No snow here, though, unlike Oslo. I nearly slipped coming out of the hostel there. Good thing I didn’t fall, with about 35 kilo on my back I probably wouldn’t have managed to get up on my own.
It all seems very unnatural to me, only a few hours of sunlight a day and cities in ice. All the time I was in Oslo there was a constant fog, so that everything seemed in black and white, and the sun, even when it was up, was never really visible. As if trying to compensate for that many Norwegians have very colorful houses, and there are lights everywhere. If I’m not mistaking Norway has the lowest average population density of Europe, but they’ll sure as hell have the highest electric bill.
 
The train trip to Bergen was, despite a very sore as from the bus trip, way cool. We ended up in a fricken’ blizzard the minute we left Oslo. Whenever we would go through a tunnel, the world outside the windows went completely black, and when we came out it just turned white. Later in the afternoon, when it got dark, you had to look closely to even see if we were in a tunnel or not.
The weather must have been pretty harsh even for Norwegian standards, because a freight train before us derailed and the locomotive ended up in some river. We had to drive the last distance ("only" 2 hours drive) by bus. By then it was pitch black outside, which gave spectacular effects on the road. Coming from "the country with the best illuminated road netwok in the world" (and boy are we proud of it) I found it very unusual that the roads had no lights at all. It’s weird how dark it really gets when there’s no "light pollution", as they call it. More often than not, the only thing you could see ouside was the reflection of the snow. It was unlike anything I’d seen before, you could recognise the shape of a rock or tree just by the snow on top of it.
Bergen, however, has no snow at all for the moment. Lots of water, though. And mountains. I love mountains. I want to climb one tomorrow, I hope the weather stays dry.
 
Ignore any typos here, I’m not used to qwerty. There’s plenty of wicked stuff on here, though. There’s an Ø where the M should be and an Æ instead of the question mark.
Leave a Reply

