“ouch.”

I got my ass kicked at capoeira last night. Or rather, my face. Twice.
The excercise was doing a full turn, with low body and high kick. Both hands on the floor and heel forward. Everyone thinks they can do a kick until they try. It’s damn near impossible to get it right. The opponent, at the mean time, is suppose to duck and dodge, with his lower arm over the side of his head to deflect if nescessary. You’re supposed to watch your opponent while doing that from under your arm, but often you’re focusing on the correct form so hard that you forget about this completely.
That’s about what happened when it was my turn to dodge. The girl before me did half the turn, showing that she was about to kick, and I ducked, not watching what she was doing. Therefor, I didn’t see that she turned too far, and the foot that was supposed to go up, was right below my face. I took her heel in the chin, and I think I think I said something along the lines of *thud* before I nearly tipped back, trying to stay on my feet. Lots of laughter, including from the capoeido, who happened to be watching. No broken bones there.
 
You’d think I learn, but hell no. Second time around, with a rather big guy before me, I made the exact same mistake. The difference was, that he didn’t turn far enough, so his heel came down right where the back of my head was. All I got was a bright flash and next thing I remember, I was standing up straight with half the ring (people stand in a circle around the two fighting) coming up to me asking "Are you okay!?" I was confused, I didn’t know what the fuss was about. I knew what had happened, but it hardly hurt and I said, "Sure, whatever. Let’s continue?" It took a while of "Are you sure? Not feeling dizzy?" before we did. The guy later walked up to me and showed a bruise on his heel, quite funny. This is the first time I took a punch at all. I’m just thankful we fight barefoot.
 
 
Regardless if they are actually bad people or not, some folks can have a good or bad influence on your life. A teacher you hate might have taught you something important (that’s a rare event but still), and there might be this amazing wonderful person you know that you have the hots for, if she’s married and so are you, you have a problem.
The stronger man sees this and acts accordingly, cutting off bonds with those who might have a bad influence. Sounds antisocial, but it’s a fact. If you’re literally better off without, there is no reason why you shouldn’t. A dumb shit like me, however, first waits a few years, letting any chemical in his body but common sense decide for him, and kind of sways between happy and miserable on that subject.
 
Point is, I finally cut off connections between me and a few people, and I actually feel liberated. Neither were bad people in any sense, but still, I am glad they’re out of my life. I hope they are happy with whatever they’re doing, but it no longer concerns me. Like a friend said, it’s a weight off your shoulders.
 
 
Whatever you’re working on, once in a while you face problems and you ask yourself why you’re doing this in the first place. Although I love my job with all my heart, I get that a lot there. Not long ago I had to break down a "millionaire fair" at the beach. Just a little get-together of Belgium’s richest. Of course, it was made sure that they had a few jaguars for sale there, and Rolex and fucknowswhatelse all had their little booth there, selling shit for dirt. Working there, and actually participating to make this a success, had my nads sucked up my body from beginning to end. I Absolutely, Hate that kind of work. When I get called for such a job and I hang up, I have a sour taste in my mouth that begs to be flushed down with alcohol. It’s a shame I don’t drink.
But then, refusing the job would only make me feel like an idiot. Letting personal values, that you can’t even be 100% sure of, come in the way of living life to the fullest. It’s not like I have more productive things to do behind my computer, do I. But then again, every employee of every single conscience-less multinational company thinks that way. "I’m just doing my job, I’m not responsible for all that." Yet there you have it: it all comes at cost of something. That’s just how it works, and I often feel like shit knowing I am a part of it.
 
Leave a Reply

