The Americas

If all goes to plan, I’m crossing the Atlantic next year. I’m already saving up because I want to stick around there for a little while. The land of the free, you know? I want to be free.

There’s 2 things I want to do.
The most likely is that I’ll be sticking around in Toronto for a little bit. I’ve got some friends and acquaintances there and I feel like paying them a visit. I don’t know why, but I feel a strong attraction to that place, even though I don’t know a thing about it. It just feels like something I should do, as if there’s some kind of reconciliation to be found there.

I might combine Toronto with the US east coast, I might not. I might even stick to Canada if I end up liking it. Google maps only mentions 4 cities in Ontario and Quebec combined, though… I’m sure they have other stuff to do? It’s a big country so there’s bound to be something of interest. I can’t wander off too far, though, because I need to end up in the US for point 2 on my list.

I want to go to Burning Man!
It’s something everyone’s got on his wish list, but no one bothers to tick off. If you ask me, most of them wouldn’t mind spending an hour or two there, carrying a parasol, before going back to their hotels to grab a shower. It’s understandable that they don’t bother travelling to Nevada for that.

But I want to go, I want to be there. I want to soak up the dust and the sun, the people and their work. And I want to get it all on camera.
If possible, I want to participate, as well. I imagine I can make myself useful some way or other, and I think I’d feel more closely connected if I pitch in.

For the uninitiated by the way: Burning Man is a cultural festival that takes place in the Black Rock desert in Nevada. That’s in West-US. Imagine Mad Max on LSD and you probably nailed it. There’s plenty of information on all the kinds of awesome this thing is, but I warn you: You might end up putting this on your wish list and never go. It’s what tends to happen.

I want to be there so badly, but I hear tickets are hard to come by. No surprise there, but I’m going to try anyways. However, this means that actually getting in won’t be sure until I am actually inside the perimeter. Personally, at this time, I give it a 50% chance.

All in all, I want to fill in a week or 2-3, possibly a month. If you think that’s vague, it’s because it is. Since pretty much everything depends on Burning Man tickets, everything I might plan could change and there’s nothing disappointing like watching big plans go down the drain.

So here’s the only concrete facts, in alphabetical order:
I am crossing the Atlantic this summer, if at all possible.
I am going to Burning Man this summer, if at all possible.
I want to visit Toronto.
Stating the obvious, I want this experience to be memorable.

The end.

Any tips on any of those 4 are very much appreciated.

3 responses

  1. I know you wanted me to leave you alone, so if you still want me to stay away then feel free to ignore this.

    But if you do happen to make it to Toronto, I’m moving to that general area in mid-february. My plane ticket is purchased and everything. It’s quite literally a bus/train ride away. So on the off chance you can look past bad history, it would be nice to try and meet you after all these years.

    21 December 2013 at 02:33

  2. Line

    Hey Maarten. Ik heb een heel aantal jaren geleden Oost Canada gedaan – gestart en geeïndigd in Toronto – en ik zou het niet opnieuw doen. Toronto is een doodgewone grootstad, Ottawa is iets interessanter (de parlementaire gebouwen zijn mooi en ‘the museam of civilization’ is echt erg indrukwekkend) en Quebec tracht Parijs te evenaren waar ze enkel in slagen met een fake notre-dame en een wannebe Mont-Martre. Verder heeft de stad wel iets Europees door de meer oude gebouwen. Maar dat is het. Tot zo ver de oost Canadese steden.. De natuur daarentegen is véél indrukwekkender en fantastischer! Maar dat is natuurlijk een heel andere reis. En eentje voor september-oktober, als je tenminste niet wil bedolven worden onder de musquito’s (ik kon het geluid van het bos niet meer horen door het constante gezoem rondom mijn musquitopak! Ik ging dan ook tijdens de slechtste periode van het jaar (musquitogewijs): mei-juni).
    Dus dreamaway, maar dit zijn mijn ervaringen!
    Dikke kus!

    21 December 2013 at 13:43

    • Merci, goed om weten!

      21 December 2013 at 15:08

Leave a Reply

